Food Challenge Day One – Fish Pie.

Perhaps I was going for an easy win, as Simon does eat some fish – fish and chips, tinned tuna, well cooked tuna steaks but when I had suggested fish pie to him in the past I had received only very unenthusiastic responses.

Today he had no choice….

IMG_5444.CR2

I’ve used this recipe before even more simplified to make fish pie for Tom, it freezes well.

The ingredients

IMG_5447.CR2

Jamie says to grate the peeled carrot, cheese and celery into the dish.  The carrot and cheese were simple, the celery went stringy and bitty, not a success, next time I will finely chop it.

Grated celery

Then chilli to give it a zing, lemon zest and juice and parsley.

IMG_5452.CR2

The fish I used were Cod; ordinary and undyed smoked, and salmon. Jamie says put prawns in, but Simon really doesn’t like the idea of those and I didn’t want to risk a failure so early in the challenge. He’ll get them on Friday as a starter if oysters prove to be unavailable.

IMG_5461.CR2

Mash on top and in the oven for 40 mins.

IMG_5474.CR2

With a slight delay because Simon was called into work to solve a computer problem, dinner was served.

Feed Me

Would Simon like it? To be honest as I said on Twitter this morning if I got a “tolerate” reaction I would be happy enough as it would mean that we could eat fish pie as a family in the future and expose Tom to the widest variety of food possible.

IMG_5497.CR2

He loved it, the pie was rich but not cloying the lemon cut through and gave it a lightness in flavour and the chilli a zing, the veggies also worked well. I didn’t notice the cheese perhaps next time I will use a stronger cheddar or maybe leave it out all together.

In his own words from Twitter

This is bloody delicious. Not as fishy as I was expecting, lots of light tangy flavours. I love that @janegoth can cook so well.

A success

So day one was an unqualified success, far more so than I was expecting too. Fish no longer have the upper fin over Simon.

Tomorrow it’s my challenge – Gammon.

One thought on “Food Challenge Day One – Fish Pie.

Leave a Reply

