Pre Walker Pre Talker

Tom is at the stage where he’s gearing up to walk – cruising is now his favourite way of getting round and the gap between supports is growing further with each attempt.  He almost walked yesterday as he over estimated the gap between the chair and the sofa but even to most doting mother could not call his shuffle and fall towards the sofa anything but falling with style.  luckily I have it captured on video.  When I get a chance I’ll upload it to Vimeo

He’s also practising standing without support a few seconds at a time but they are slowly getting longer and he’ll so be balancing on his own two feet.  He has mastered the art of climbing onto the sofa, it caught me completely unawares.  One minute he was at my feet gently banging a toy car into my ankle the next he was on the sofa, hands on my collarbone and nose squished against mine demanding attention.  Perhaps more importantly he’s learnt how to get off the sofas and our bed feet first rather than head first.

This state of pre walking is difficult though as soon as it comes to public spaces.  I can only think of a handful of places that are safe and friendly to the crawling, creeping baby and there are none in the centre of King’s Lynn or Peterborough, Cambridge is a bit better with the park area but it’s space shared with dogs and their poo.  Tom gets frustrated and bored because I can’t let him get down to stretch his limbs and a high speed crawl.  I think I’m looking forward to him walking.

Tom’s getting very vocal as well, he says Mamamama, mum mum mum mum or just ummmm when in my general direction or looking at me he does the same with Dada dada dada when looking at Simon but not all the time he’s also called his push trolley, the telly and a soft toy ‘mum mum’ within the last week so I’m still not convinced that he’s using the words with meaning yet.

The ‘words’ he uses when he is talking scribble, as my mum calls it, are wonderful,

‘ticka ticka ticka’ said very fast and with a lot of tongue clicking

‘Gnur baoog bruuu’

and my favourite is when he says ‘mmmmmbah’ as he leans in to give a kiss.

Greyscale

One thought on “Pre Walker Pre Talker

  1. There is something hugely cute about babyspeak. Could listen to them for hours, burbling away (and then hand them back when the real parenting stuff is needed..).

Leave a Reply

