And Lo She Blogs

I’ve not had my blogging muse about me for a while, but now it’s back – if not with a vengeance it’s strong enough to get me typing when I could be watching the Hairy Bikers being patronising to mothers who cook.   Mind you mmmmm Boston Beans…

One of the reasons I’ve not been blogging is that I’ve had post natal depression – it silenced me.  And as I got better Twitter and the lovely people on twitter gave me enough of a voice for the time.   But now I’m pretty much better and I feel the need to blog again I need to capture and share Tom’s milestones so that I will be able to recall them later.

Tom can now sit up,

He’s got four teeth so it getting used to the joys of teething.  Apart from drooling and rosy cheeks he’s not been too badly effected by his teeth erupting from the gums.

I’ve only found one food he doesn’t like and that’s salmon, everything else he’s had he’s enjoyed, bananas especially.

He had his “8 month check” last week when he was 7 months 10 days he weighed in at 10.45 kg and 77 cms (for those of you still watching in black and white 23 lbs and 2′ 6ish”)

He’s had his first proper cold too, all snot and misery for a couple of days then he got better.

Crawling hasn’t happened yet, he’s not yet quite worked out that he has to get his bum into the air at the same time as his head but he’s getting quite good at spinning around on his tummy and pushing himself backwards.   The backwards pushing, though is very frustrating for Tom he doesn’t want to go backwards he wants to go forwards, towards the things he can see and desires but can not reach.

I’m still breastfeeding Tom, although his top two teeth coming through it’s been fairly painful at times as Tom has bitten me on occasion and as the teeth have rubbed against me.  There was a point when I thought that I would have to stop feeding as it was getting too painful.  However I’ve starting taking him off the breast every time he bites and adjusting the angle at which he latches and it seems to be working, reducing the number of times I have a painful feed.

Sadly the stupid o clock feed doesn’t seem to be disappearing any time soon, we tried banishing it by substituting water and Daddy for me and breast milk but that didn’t even last the first night as I cracked.  Tom doesn’t wake up every night in the wee hours I don’t think it’s necessarily habit and hopefully he’ll grow out of it.  Mind you as my mother enjoys reminding me, my brother didn’t sleep through the night until he was 5.

3 thoughts on “And Lo She Blogs

  1. Now that’s a cute kid.

    Sorry to hear about your PND. Gald you are emerging the other side. And nice to have you back in the feedreader.

    Hey. Now your a Mummyblogger!

  2. Sorry to hear about your tough spell. Glad your back on the Blog. When I’ve been down I’ve found it hard to blog so I can relate a bit. Just remember these sleepless nights when Tom is a teen and get your own back by embarrasing him at every opportunity xxx

  3. Good to see you posting.

    Tom is very cute and he will be crawling before you can say “wasn’t it good when he wasn’t everywhere”

    Well done on breast feeding something Mrs Simmo could not do past a few months, doesnt make her bad just something that didn’t happen and you have done really well to keep it up. Something most mums with PND could never do so your a great mum and keep it up.

Leave a Reply

